Who We Are And What We Do

Mission Statement

The Lower Mountain Fork River Foundation (LMFRF) was founded in 2002 for the sole purpose of enhancement and improvement of the trout fishery and fishing experience on the lower Mountain Fork River.

Basic Overview of What We Do

The LMFRF is a tax exempt 501(c)3 foundation that donates directly to the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation by funding particular projects which will improve trout habitat and fly fishing prospects for the anglers who have discovered the lower Mountain Fork River and know of its beauty and its potential for becoming a premier trout stream of the South.

We donate money and/or time or gift the ODWC (wildlife department), Beavers Bend State Park, or Oklahoma Game Wardens to improve the overall experience of the visitors that come to the Park.

We also work with various organizations and donate our time to spread the art and science of fly fishing and to teach stewardship of the river and the fishery so that this resource will be here for years to come. We volunteer our time to Oklahoma Youth Forestry Camp, Reel Recovery, and Project Healing Waters, North Texas to teach fly fishing and share the enjoyment that we get from spending a day on the river.

The volunteers of the LMFRF are individuals and members of other groups from Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, and Arkansas who have joined together to concentrate on improving and sharing this one, great river.

We have received donations and Gifts from (in no particular order):  Orvis, Tailwaters, Backwoods, 89’ersChapter of TU, Oklahoma Fly Fishers, Dallas Fly Fishers, Fort Worth Fly Fishers, FFF Southern Council, Red River Fly Fishers, and East Texas Fly Fishers. Thank you very much from all of us at the LMFRF. I apologize if I have left anyone out. I’m sure you will let me know.

We invite you to become a part of our family!


T. Patrick Waters
Dallas, TX

Tom Atwood
Terrell, TX

Marty Weaver

Lauren Montgomery
Hochatown, OK

BOARD (in no particular order)

Mike Love
Idabel, OK

Chris Schatte
Vernon, TX

Mike Emerson
Azle, TX

Bill Leinberger
Garland, TX

Dutch Baughman
Southlake, TX

Diane Blair
Dallas, TX

David Dillow
Durant, OK

Lew Duckwall
Lake Dallas, TX

Phil O’Bryant
Marshall, TX


Membership & Event Coordinator:
Linda King
Broken Bow, Oklahoma

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search